Britain’s 77-year wait for a tennis champion comes to an end

By Henry D Gombya

Britain's first Wimbledon Men's Singles final champion since 1936, Andy Murray, savours his victory at SW19 yesterday.
Britain’s first Wimbledon Men’s Singles final champion since 1936, Andy Murray, savours his victory at SW19 yesterday.

As a British online newspaper, we joined every Briton last night to shout and encourage Andy Murray, the British No.1 lawn tennis player when he faced Serbia’s Novak Djokovic for what is undoubtedly the world’s most coveted tennis trophy.

Playing in his second final in as many years, Murray who is currently the world’s No.2 tennis player took on Djokovic the world’s No.1 tennis player in a final that many believed the Serb would emerge winner. Last year, the Scot played in the finals that ended with him publicly shedding tears after being beaten in straight sets by Switzerland’s Roger Federer.

This time it was a different Andy Murray, watched by millions around the country and a full-capacity Centre Court at Wimbledon in South West London or as we Londoners call it, SW19. Many watching may not have been avid tennis fans but one thing we all desperately wanted was to see the image of Britain not winning its own tennis finals for the last 77 years ended. How badly it hang on all of us.

Many Britons watched the encounter from their rooms, others went to the pubs while many sat right outside the magnificent Centre Court where a massive TV screen has now become a must for thousands of fans who had been camping for two days on what is now known as Henman Hill, after another Briton who so nearly came to end the wait but failed after reaching the Wimbledon semi-final on four occasions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

393,838 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>